top of page

ITE-PR 2018 Fall Conference and Annual Meeting: Transportation Asset Management

On December 7, 2018, ITE Puerto Rico Section celebrated its Fall Conference and Annual Meeting. The subject of the Conference was Transportation Asst Management.

ITE Puerto Rico Section Board, Members, Sponsors, and Collaborators

Board is seated; from left to right: Wilfredo Cordero (Secretary), Ivelisse Gorbea (Past President), Zaid Rico (President), Lynnette Alicea (Vice-president), Gustavo García (Treasurer)

The ITE Puerto Rico Section is engaged in promoting the development of its members in all areas related to transportation and in the enhancement of the Puerto Rico transportation system. Continuing our support to the transportation system resilience, we recognize the importance of accounting for the transportation assets and managing them responsibly, considering their purpose, lifecycle, risks, and available resources. For this reason, the Fall Conference was focused in Transportation Assets Management. The importance of this subject was emphasized this year by the needs discovered while assessing the transportation system’s conditions after Hurricane María. In addition, 2018 was the first year that related federal requirements are being enforced. As part of these requirements, states must develop asset management plans for their National Highway System bridges and pavements (23 CFR 515), including risks associated to environmental conditions (23 CFR 515.7), and for their public transportation systems receiving federal financial assistance (49 CFR 625). Therefore, this Conference provided an opportunity for transportation professionals to expand their knowledge about the requirements, scope, and recommended practices for the development of asset management plans and for the implementation and maintenance of asset management programs. CMA Architects & Engineers LLC together with its sub-consultants Gordon Proctor & Associates and StarIsis Corporation were awarded by the Puerto Rico Highway and Transportation Authority (PRHTA) with the responsibility of preparing the first Transportation Asset Management Plan for Puerto Rico.

The Conference included presentations and workshops supporting 6.5 contact hours towards continuing education accredited by the College of Engineers and Land Surveyors of Puerto Rico (CIAPR by its initials in Spanish). A total of 45 persons attended the activity. Protocolary greetings were offered by Carlos Contreras, P.E., Secretary of Transportation and Public Works, and Andrés Álvarez, P.E., Engineering Team Leader at Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Puerto Rico Division.

The speakers of the Conference :

Shobna Varma (StarIsis Corporation and CMA Architects & Engineers LLC Team for the Puerto Rico Transportation Asset Management)

Gordon Proctor, from Gordon Proctor & Associates and CMA Architects & Engineers LLC Team for the Puerto Rico Transportation Asset Management

Nastaran Saadatmand, P.E. (FHWA Office of Stewardship, Oversight and Management)

Thuha Nguyen, P.E. (2019 President for ITE District 10 - Florida and Puerto Rico)

Iván Múnera, P.E. (Metropistas)

The Annual Meeting was celebrated after the Conference. It included the participation of Thuha Nguyen, P.E., 2019 President for ITE District 10 (Florida and Puerto Rico). During the Annual Meeting, the members of the ITE Puerto Rico Section Board presented their 2018 report:

  • Zaida E. Rico Rolón, P.E., Ph.D., President (CMA Architects & Engineers LLC)

  • Lynette Alicea León, E.I.T., Vice-president (CSA Architects & Engineers LLP)

  • Gustavo García, P.E., Treasurer (VAG Transportation Engineering Consultants, PSC)

  • Wilfredo R. Cordero Cruz, Secretary (CSA Architects & Engineers LLP)

  • Ivelisse R. Gorbea Class, P.P.L., Immediate Past President (PRHTA)

  • Carolyn M. Arroyo, ITE University of Puerto Rico - Mayagüez Student Chapter President

During the Annual Meeting, ITE Puerto Rico Section presented the 2018 Outstanding Transportation Student Award to Bryan Ruiz Cruz (University of Puerto Rico Mayagüez and CMA Architects & Engineers LLC).

ITE Puerto Rico Section thanks the Institute of Civil Engineers of the CIAPR and its President Marilú de la Cruz for their support and collaboration towards the fulfillment of this activity, and ITE Puerto Rico Section sponsors, that made possible this activity:

  • Gold Sponsors

  • Caribbean Sign Supply

  • Metric Engineering, Inc.

  • Silver Sponsors

  • CMA Architects & Engineers LLC

  • Klein Engineering, PSC

  • VAG Transportation Engineering Consultants, PSC

  • Bronze Sponsor

  • SteeL

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page